SQUEEZING CREATIVITY

–A Weekly Chronicle Series

All Things Were

|| Week Four

This week, few encounters tousled my monotonous hobbit-like routine to a volatile break.

My former student , now a dear friend  who had studied and worked in Australia then came by to Davao. It was a stint getaway before finally heading back to face life-changing demands of adulthood in his homeland, South Korea. Wondering if he’s Korean? Yes he is.

Promises &  Keeping It

Remember the feeling you had “When you get to see a friend face to face again because he kept his promise which you never expected he would or would possibly happen after all the cascading events time and long-distance have unfolded”, that was how I scrupulously  felt that night.

We had a fine plush feel dinner. I met his charming girlfriend who came along to the  trip with him. She said she finds Davao being a nice city with warm people except that the air is seemingly filled with smog. “Probably it’s the aftermath of the holiday season and due to heavy traffic” I unknowingly explained. It was a lovely night packed with recapitulating momentous memories from the past and looking forward to brighter things that await us this year.

My friend with his darling girlfriend

They said, they will definitely come back , someday..

Patching Up

I also got to see few significant friends this week. The first one was patching up a holed friendship box. It is relieving to know that despite the poignant things that had happened between us last year, the timeless treasures in our box are still there, intact and never receding. Mental telepathy is one of those (laughs). In time, we will revive those treasures and invisible bond, again.

Opening Up

The latter was more of opening a box hoarded with mixed fervor about these things happening to us now, female twenty-something, fighting for our dreams, but not appearing like fighting enough. Thoughts and decisions we’ve made we couldn’t say to other people because quite frankly, they would hear it absurd thus they wouldn’t understand. It was the longest coffee session I had recently, heartwarming and reassuring. I was glad.

Savouring

My stomach certainly loves the intricacies of Filipino food; these taste buds love the homegrown eclectic flavors, yet rarely, I am such a sucker up for Korean-dishes. And since Korean restaurants are nowhere to be found in my hometown ( where I am staying now) I wrote it to my to do list : To satisfy my tummy with the spicy and strong flavors of Jajangmyeon . To do list number three, done.

Jajangmyeon, also known as Korean spaghetti

Can’t wait to satiate my taste buds

Ending A Chapter

So I’m back now in my cozy bedroom dealing with this too much familiarity relationship we have for each other. Last night,I had a hard laugh watching Rob Schneider  on the TV show The Talk saying a few contrasting Filipino words such as mabuti ( good) and bastos ( rude) . On one segment of the show, when asked about his being partly Filipino, his sentiments were like I’m also proud being one or kinda  like that, albeit a little satirical and sneerful in some way. Well, that has always been Rob.

To end this intertwined entry, here’s my own version of the fast spreading Tourism slogan campaign our country is mobilizing now; More Fun in the Philippines

Color blocking in the tropical sky

If you have time, come visit the Philippines, it’s more fun here, in a different kind of way.

One comment on “All Things Were

  1. Denis Harutunian
    March 31, 2012

    Thanks for the marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you may be a great author.I will make certain to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back from now on. I want to encourage you continue your great posts, have a nice afternoon!

Leave a Reply

