SQUEEZING CREATIVITY

–A Weekly Chronicle Series

About Today

This by far is the most sluggish week I got myself into—- staring blankly at the ceiling wall, fixed at one surface, confuting myself against uncertainty and self-doubt, munching Snickers.

My goals for the week were either untouched or haphazardly done.  Surpassing slothful episodes, the only thing I made through is this book, The Hunger Games.  Never did I jump on the bandwagon of trilogy turned blockbuster-overrated-film series. So at first,  I was skeptical on reading this book . Oddly enough,  I finished it like an overnight sensation, devouring each page like I was in the game . There was no hours for tomorrow, only today. It left me indebted on my sleep bank again.

To add, I might as well be wallowing in sleep debts for the other books of the trilogy. Engrossing.  Page-turner.  The ending is not as gory as I have imagined. In a way, it is heart-breaking, tearful and sweet.  This made me curious on the next thing about the unrequited-love between Peeta Mellark and Katniss Everdeen. I don’t intend to  spoil the ending here or did I just spoil it? ( Really, I didn’t mean to ) Before we’ll catch each other about the movie and it did ruin or it did not ruin the book discussions, I’ll leave you with my favorite line from this book.

“But the words are easy and soothing, promising tomorrow will be more hopeful than this awful piece of time we call today.”

11 comments on “About Today

  1. The Dandy Lion
    February 24, 2012

    Oh, you’re not the only one to surprise themselves by falling in love with this series! I was harassed by a friend to read it – it’s not usually my kind of book – but was quite quickly addicted!
    By the way, I love the picture.

    • Ninay
      February 24, 2012

      yeah, it wasn’t my kind either. One friend poked me to do so, now I’m smiling at him for it! 🙂
      and yes thank you!

  2. Gabriela Vargas
    February 24, 2012

    Aww. Don’t worry about it. Everyone has sluggish weeks every once in a while. I’m having one myself this time around. 😛

    • Ninay
      February 24, 2012

      Yeah, a pretty time-out. it’s good we can always go back on our creative pursuits still! Thanks for dropping by! 😉

      • Gabriela Vargas
        February 24, 2012

        My creative pursuits are the only things keeping me from going insane. 😛

  3. Jai
    February 25, 2012

    I love your blog 🙂

    • Ninay
      March 4, 2012

      Thank you Jai! Raving yours as well! 😉

  4. graeymalkin
    March 1, 2012

    I really tried even remotely liking this novel. I couldn’t do it.
    I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    • Ninay
      March 1, 2012

      Hi! Yeah, I’ve read your review.
      I had fun with Hunger Games. However the next book, “Catching Fire” is so dragging.I’m procrastinating to finish it. Maybe you’ll hate it even more. 🙂

  5. whyyyjen
    March 21, 2012

    Since Hunger Games are already showing in the cinemas, I’ll watch it first before reading the book version 🙂

    • Ninay
      March 22, 2012

      They said “the book is always better, always”. Have fun with the movie, it got good reviews. I’m sure it’ll be as great with the book, just few inches away.:)

Leave a Reply

