SQUEEZING CREATIVITY

–A Weekly Chronicle Series

Remember When

You were so young and the world was waiting for you.

You were vulnerable yet invincible,

full of hope, faith, enthusiasm and big dreams.

Before you know it, the realm called life took your treasured things.

From your grasp, all you had were slipping away, bit by bit.

Slowly, you were losing the battle.

It went on and on and on and on…

Nothing’s left, almost.

Life together with the world corrupted you.

Your hopes were gone, your identity and the person you thought you would be.

Your confidence, even.

It was gloomy.

Somehow, there was something left.

You still know how to doodle.

The mediocre doodles you could easily get by and have outgrown.

You embraced it for a while, mediocrity.

Then you hold on to this thing you can’t let go of, at least, your faith.

Your faith, that things will be better, someday. I hope you still have that in you.

                                                           ***

Hoarded some hard-to-articulate sentiments this week thus resorted to doodling like a six-year old last night. Depressing and in some way hilarious!  My first two drawings reminded me how I draw 18 years ago (yes, you’ve just  guess my age). I want to creep 18 years back, that sphere of my existence where I felt very eager about life, secured and less frightened. Sigh. Enough said.
Sorry for this uninspiring post. I’m trying to pull all myself together though. Expect for something more sophisticated and artistic next week, crossing fingers!

12 comments on “Remember When

  1. Slloth
    March 10, 2012

    It’s interesting you end appologizing for an “uninspiring” post, when I found the opposite! As I read toward the end I thought to myself just how inspiring it is. It is an honest assessment of life with no candy coated frills.
    Then it ends with hope and what can inspire more than hope? Well we are still here after all life has put in our path and there is no reason why we won’t continue. I found it inspiring!

    • Ninay
      March 11, 2012

      I feel light you find it inspiring. Thank you so much!

  2. buckwheatsrisk
    March 10, 2012

    Your art is incredible! Sorry you are struggling, virtual hugs.

    • Ninay
      March 11, 2012

      I ‘ll get by with the hugs! Thanks for dropping by! 😉

  3. Michelle Blair Fuller
    March 10, 2012

    I loved this! So thoughtful. Thank you!

    • Ninay
      March 11, 2012

      I appreciate it! Thanks!

  4. westwood
    March 13, 2012

    Doodling is great! Love this!

    • Ninay
      March 15, 2012

      Sure, it is! Thanks a lot! 🙂

  5. Posky
    March 14, 2012

    Fortunately a simple doodle can be repeated and refined until it’s simply your style– and you’ll be praised for it. I think you’re well on your way.

    Content always matters most and you’ve definitely got that.

    Any any rate, I liked the post and your hopes for everyone else.

    • Ninay
      March 15, 2012

      Oh..I’ll definitely take note on what you said. Discovering my style with this whole doodle and painting thing has been an amazing pastime.
      Thank you! Glad you liked it!

  6. Pingback: Saying Things We Haven’t For Awhile; « God's Grace, ftw.

Leave a Reply

