SQUEEZING CREATIVITY

–A Weekly Chronicle Series

Nothing Lasts Forever, Seize It Before It Changes

Ironic it is how I had plenty of hours to fill in to these past few months (guilt feeling of not filling it all up kicks in though) but in a flash, I barely had the time to ruminate and pour my thoughts into writing like this anymore. My soul has been trying to plunge to the recent changes..

Last week, this not-your-typical-post-nursing-grad-offer thumped my way again. The job offers a decent pay while requiring me to discuss with lawyers, queue on government offices and checks real estate locations around the city. Perks included are many:  free spicy-Korean meals, a good place to stay and cozy rides all throughout each transaction for the project.  Strange as it seemed, it was inarguably a good offer so yes, I grabbed it.

Few of the things I find lovely in the house.

Life is unpredictable….indeed unpredictable and unimaginable sometimes. Days whiffed by so fast and I started being busy again, saw myself hurdling into business and legally saturated conversations I didn’t even imagine I’ll be thrown in to one day.

My boss said He encountered serious car accidents before.

While he’s the one driving, I should always wear the seat-belt.It saved his life, twice.

This dog barrages at my room every morning at 5 am, obviously disturbing my train of sleep.

Just before I could soak up in my new carefree-job, two of the hospitals I’ve applied to said “hello” in my inbox.  The first one won’t be giving me any pay for 3-6 months yet I know in my heart I’ll be at ease and can get through working there even for a year or more. On the contrary, the second one which I’ve trained to last year is hiring me. This entitles me a pay right away but something in that workplace environment I just can’t suit myself (details I can’t divulge to you even if I want to).So which one should I choose?

True, opportunity comes but once, and when two come together, confusion takes over.

On the way home, I told my boss how I couldn’t stay long working for his company and  how I’m so messed up with these two hospital offers, with this  another decision making predicament again.

He was considerate to let me go after two weeks. Then he tried helping me out by telling some lines I couldn’t forget.
“At your young age, you don’t do the things you want or like. You do the things you need to do .That is very important.”  It left me more stupefied the whole ride going home, mulling over the pros and cons of following where I want but not getting paid for six months or accepting the latter offer because it’ll give me money however will end me  uninspired going to work every day.Restless, even. It was one of the longest rides I had in my life.

Those words of his are reflective. Unfortunately, I’ve made a different decision and probably sticking to it.

I chose where I know I’ll be productive and proactive working in. Simply put, work at an ease pace, motivated but not being compensated for a while. Stubbornness is something I have to outgrow with (grinning).

I hope you do understand that I’m not the type who always tread the easy way out; I’ve been through tough times ,brave enough to overcome them too. But this time,I’d like to go where I want to go. Just this time. I’ll try to believe that things happen for a purpose, not on mere accidents. Everything is predestined. Have faith and all things work together for good.

Two weeks before I’ll go home and reconcile with the nursing field again. I am excited!

Coffee while interviewing few applicants in a coffee shop.

A freelance job is carefree and never boring. No contracts to be signed, it mostly goes down to verbal agreement. Just like when my boss said, if we can’t find me a replacement, “You’re not allowed to quit this project neither allowed to go home. I would tie you to a chair somewhere.” It was a joke, of course!

Nothing lasts forever. We all go through beginnings without clear-cut endings but we know things eventually have to end, that is true to life. Well, getting off from being 24 next week is definite for me.That is for the next post!

6 comments on “Nothing Lasts Forever, Seize It Before It Changes

  1. Andrew
    April 30, 2012

    Free spicy-Korean meals are hard to pass up. But you have to follow your heart. I think that’s a good mantra to live by.

    • Ninay
      April 30, 2012

      Thank you for that. I’m not distraught whether to leave or stay in my current freelancing job I got now.I am more than willing to give it up, even the perks, just for that opportunity at the hospital.It’s the two hospital options i got confused of. I hope everyone gets this too.. 🙂

      Thanks for dropping by here.

  2. free penny press
    April 30, 2012

    I have always thought we should do what we want to do and the other little details will work themselves out as long as we proceed with caution..
    best of luck in whatever you decide. (Nurse rock..My Mom was a nurse:-)

    • Ninay
      May 5, 2012

      Thank you. It’s been a lifelong struggle for going to what I want. I know all things will come together for good at the end. 🙂

  3. OneWeekToCrazy
    June 25, 2012

    Yay! Good for you for standing up for what you want to do…I don’t think us young people have to sacrifice what we want. I think older people just feel that way because they had to sacrifice when they were young! PS…you have the best hair!!!
    Cheers…I’m a “follower” now!

    • Ninay
      June 26, 2012

      Chasing those dreams is never easy! Thanks for checking this little nook and for the nice words!
      Cheers!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 30, 2012 by in Humor, Life, Musings, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
